Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre – a Midsummer Night’s Dream

Cost – The cost can vary depending on where you want to sit. We stood in the Yard which was £5.00 each. So very affordable!

Where – 21 New Globe Walk, Bankside, London, SE1 9DT

Map Globe

Transport – Walking! If you catch a tube into the city and then walk, you can tick off a few other tourist locations along the way!

Time required – 3 hours with a 15 min interval

“Lord, what fools these mortals be!” – William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Since I was young I have loved the story of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. So to see it in its original historical setting was a dream come true!

I was going to try and explain the story in my own words, but I think the websites description explains it better; ‘My! The woods outside Athens are a busy place on this magical night! Four runaway lovers find themselves smack bang in the middle of a dispute between the King and Queen of the fairies, and, as if that wasn’t enough, a troupe of amateur actors are trying to rehearse a play. Between these unlikely groups flies Puck, armed only with a wicked sense of humour and a love potion capable of making anyone fall for the first person they set eyes upon. What could possibly go wrong?’ 

A Midsummer night’s dream was such a special performance due to many contributing factors such as the original setting, the magical set, the music as well as an incredibly talented cast! From the minute I walked in to the Globe, the magic overcame me and I immediately drawn from beginning to end. The performance was around 3 and a half hours, but I was so captured that it felt like time flew, and I barely noticed I was standing for that long!

As we walked in to the Globe to find a standing spot, a beautiful Indian woman was playing a sitar on the upper level of the stage. There was the main stage, a second level to the stage as well as smaller stages within the yard. The sky was dotted with lantern decorations, gently swaying in the wind. I found it phenomenal that the show essentially started the minute you walked in, as it set the environment and created the magical vibes immediately.

The show itself was by far the best Shakespeare performance I have ever seen. Original Shakespeare with a modern day twist made for a hilarious performance, where I was able to follow the story regardless of the tongue twisting Shakespearean language.

My favorite aspect of the show was how they made Helenus a gay male character! The fierceness, the sass and the attitude was insanely funny, as well at the interactions between the casts. What a fantastic way to modernize Shakespeare!

My favorite character was Puck, played by Katy Owen. Puck is the mischievous sprite who sets many of the events into motion, causing well played havoc. Katy Owens portrayal of Puck is fantastic, and is a fantastic representation of the fun loving, crazy and yet good-hearted character that some may say, make the play. Pucks interaction with the audience was something that really struck me as original and innovative. Puck would sneak through the crowd, touching audience members on the shoulders, as she made her way back to the stage. She would squirt water guns into the crowd, and at one point even kissed an audience member on the lips! Comedic genius!

So, overall I cannot rave about this performance enough. From the minute you walk in, you will entranced by the magic of it all! Please let me know if you have been, what show you saw and your thoughts! I cannot wait to go back and see more amazing performances.

Love

Jess x

Leave a Reply

